EUFF 2014 Audience Choice

10th anniversary

European Union Film Festival

Comes To A End


2014 Audience Choice 

The Gilded Cage (PORTUGAL), Directed by Ruben Alves


The Largest Public Attendance On Record 

Still from "The Gilded Cage"
Still from “The Gilded Cage”

Toronto has spoken! The 2014 European Union Film Festival (EUFF) Audience Choice is PORTUGAL’s The Gilded Cage, directed by Ruben Alves, an enormously charming comedy about a Portuguese couple’s quest to return home, after having immigrated to Paris several years back.

The Gilded Cage, will have an encore screening TONIGHT, Sunday November 30, at 8:30 pm. The film will be preceded by a second screening of Maria Douza’s A Place Called Home (GREECE) at 6:00 pm, the best-attended title at the Festival; and earlier, by a repeat screening of Ferzan Ozpetek’s Fasten Your Seatbelts at 3:00 pm, at The Royal (608 College St).

As the 2014 edition of EUFF comes to a close, the Festival’s 10th anniversary was a resounding success with record-breaking attendance reaching well over 9000 movie-goers.  It also saw a large increase in advance reservations, with multiple screenings selling out.

“We had major increases in attendance, as well as in advance reservations, seeing the biggest audiences and most sold-out screenings the Festival has ever experienced,” says EUFF Executive Director Jeremie Abessira.  “We look forward to continuing to build on this and to bring Europe’s finest films to Toronto audiences.”

About European Union Film Festival

Celebrating their 10th Anniversary, the official EUFF -a not-for-profit organization- strives to reflect the excellence, innovation, and diversity of European cinema in Toronto, the world’s most multicultural city. Founded in 2004 as a salve to Hollywood monotony, this free festival has grown to now showcase 28 contemporary films drawn from each of the EU’s member countries. The EUFF is a unique festival and the only one in the world to bring together disparate EU Consulates and local cultural institutes for collaboration. Represented countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.