European Union Film Festival presents Encore Screenings January 22 and 23

European Union Film Festival
Encore screenings

Friday January 22
9:00 pm – NOBLE (IRELAND)

Saturday January 23

The Royal Cinema, 608 College St.

Screenings are FREE, with a number of select advance reservations available online for $10.

Toronto’s European Union Film Festival is very pleased to welcome 2016 with encore screenings of 2015 festival favourites on Friday January 22, and Saturday January 23, at the Royal Cinema, 608 College St.

Kicking things off on Friday is Károly Ujj-Mészáros’ LIZA, THE FOX FAIRY (HUNGARY) a charming comedy on an unlucky in love thirty-something, who believes she’s becoming a Japanese mythical creature. Stephen Bradley’s multi-award-winning inspirational drama, NOBLE (IRELAND), will be shown after.

The next day, Robert Thalheim’s PARENTS (GERMANY), a brutally honest and humorous portrait of the contemporary family, will be shown first, followed by the 2015 EUFF Audience Choice, Roel Reiné ADMIRAL (THE NETHERLANDS). A passionate epic filled with spectacular battle scenes, this film tells the story of one of the Netherland’s most famous naval heroes: Michiel de Ruyter.

Like all EUFF regular screenings, these four films will be shown for FREE, with seats available on a first come first served basis. A number of advance reservations will be available for $10, online only.

About the European Union Film Festival
The European Union Film Festival (EUFF), a not-for-profit organization, strives to reflect the excellence, innovation, and diversity of European cinema in Toronto, the world’s most multicultural city. Founded in 2004 as a salve to Hollywood monotony, this free festival has grown to now showcase 28 contemporary films drawn from each of the EU’s member countries. The EUFF is a unique festival and the only one in the world to bring together disparate EU Consulates and local cultural institutes for collaboration. Represented countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.